Monday, August 18, 2008

Pictures



















whoa that was a long post!






wowwy wow wow wow, it's been a loooooong time

Anyway...here we are. It's been a great summer. We have to really take advantage of it considering our blustery winters (I've been reading ALOT of Pooh lately and I really love the word BLUSTERY!) Amelia can't get enough of Pooh or Scooby Doo.



We've been doing a good amount of sailing..finally! It's such an awesome feeling, so peaceful. Amelia is pretty good out there, we can't go too long or she gets antsy, mostly because of the super puffy life jacket. I think if we could take it off she would be ok, but I just do not feel comfortable doing that until she can swim. And believe me Brian's working on that...



Lots of bike riding, we have a weeride (for anyone with kids and who likes to ride bikes this thing is AWESOME) and Amelia likes it so much better than the chariot thing behind the bike.



This is why I should update this thing more often, I'm totally forgetting stuff...darn it!



Amelia's vocab is past the point of writing down words, she pretty much says everything we say. It's so cute to sneak in her room while she's "reading" a book...jibber jabber. You can tell she's on the brink of forming full sentences, she's got 2 and 3 words down. I keep trying to get it on tape. Also Mary had a little lamb is the only song she sings almost all the words to and it is sooo freaking cute. I tried to get that too and she just stared blankly into the camera.



Swimming, swimming and more swimming she is hesitant to go in the lake water with me or Brian, but once we get her in there she has fun. ( I think it's too cold) At the city park there is a little wading fountain/man-made stream where she feels more comfortable and she loves it.



We are still are going to the library for book babies a couple times a week. They just built a new library and it is so nice. The old library was an old funeral home...seriously! We get to move up to toddler book time now because big A just turned TWO~! She'll tell you how old she is too and hold up her finger's and try to put up just 2 but it ends up with 3 or 4...



We've been to a couple of weddings..very nice..very nice. Amelia has so much fun in big crowds. We go downtown to art walk that's once a month and she just loves it, she rides in her backpack and me and Brain drink wine...fun for the whole family! so anyway now she says downtown all the time. cute



Since I'm so bad with the babybook thing I'm trying to make this kinda like one. and I don't want to forget what baby Amelia is like, she's growing up so fast. I just can't believe it! She's so sassy and funny. She says "no thank" you very sweetly, but when she is agitated and throwing a fit she SCREAMS "no thank you" and it is really hilarious and so hard to keep a straight face. All and all she's not much of a fit thrower, mostly when she's tired and/or hungry. If we avoid those things and keep her on her schedule she's awesome.



Her favorite song is "doggie song" she likes the woof woof part the best. I don't know what the real song is called.



Sleeping..sleeping by far the most difficult part of the day (it is getting easier though). She is going to sleep in her own bed, which is in our room but we have to give her a "night night hug", which consists of Brian or myself "laying" on top of her. We aren't laying, we are hovering and your feet go numb and your arms are shaking by the time she finally falls asleep...trying to hold yourself up off of her. Then peeling yourself away without waking her up (because she is the one doing the hugging)...I wish I had video of it because I'm sure it's a sight! So we are trying to slowly get that down to less and less contact....wow what a process!



Gram (my mom) came to visit and we had lots of fun. We went gem mining for star garnets..the only ones in the world besides India ..FYI. We went with my sister in law Adrean (Amelia's aunt)and had a great time and got filthy, except for Adrean...hmm. We went sailing, went to Thompsons pass to go hiking and "passed" on that, so we just took a drive.



Amelia also loves to fike (hike). But she's slow and we have to put her in her backpack...something else that can cause an issue. But I think it's good she likes to walk so it's ok..



Potty training...she's tinkled in the potty once, no more. She pooped on the carpet once and on a book once and tinkled on the floor more than once....she now has pull-ups that she hates. Now that she has more of an opinion on things I'm realizing I should have started this months ago when she was more susceptible to suggestion...



Amelia loves to eat dogfood...this REALLY annoys me for some reason



Amelia loves punies (smoothies) and puny pops (frozen puny)



Amelia loves kitties, doggies, bunnies, all things animal EXCEPT for bugs...she FREAKS and I blame this on Brian because I'm quite fond of bugs and Brians is not



So I think that brings us up to speed on 2 year old Amelia...her birthday was this weekend and it was just perfect. She wore the dress that her g-ma liz made for her and she looked adorable. She got lots of books (which is good as she prefers them to toys) I like to joke that she has toys as props because she never plays with them (we could have said that about her crib too hee hee). We got her lots of art stuff, and playdoh which she LOVES. When she first got it she was mixing the colors and I got a little panicky thinking "you can't do that...what are you doing. they need to to be separate". Now it's just a big purple ball and she mostly just takes it out of a container and puts it back into another, so anyway.... that's that. Speaking of purple, a couple of months or so ago I had a wildly genius idea to have a color of the week and I picked purple. Which didn't work, she thought every color was purple. Occasionally she'll correctly name orange or yellow. Not too excited about knowing colors yet......no pressure:)



I hope everyone is doing great and having a great summer!



TTFN(tata for now)-tigger says that



~sollee